Inviting Expectation

One of the themes of recent weeks is beginning to understand the difference between wanting and expecting.  This is what I have figured out.  Wanting something will usually only leave you with the wanting.  Expecting something tends to draw it to you.

Let me put it another way; wanting something leaves yourself open to the opportunity to doubt. Wanting something implies that it is someone else’s decision as to whether or not you get it.  Wanting something leaves the getting of that thing to fate.

By changing your perspective you begin to manifest.  By expecting something you believe it is deserved.  Expecting something gives you the ability to decide where and when you receive that thing.  Expecting something empowers you to get that thing of your own volition.

Expectation is something that has held a negative connotation for me for a long time.  I always thought that having expectations was a sign of an over-active ego.  I have realized that the reason I felt that way was because of my own ego was so shaky.  There is nothing wrong with having expectations.  It is not a sign of narcissism, it is a sign of healthy self-love.  Of course that is provided you have reasonable expectations.  Expecting to be queen of the universe might be a sign of megalomania.

A wonderful woman I know often refers to being gentle with herself in her writing.  She, like so many of us, is on the journey to discovering how to do that.  For me being mindful of the difference between wanting and expecting is part of that.  Remembering my own value is part of that.  Knowing that I deserve certain things is part of that.

What are the things that I should, that anyone should, expect?  Kindness, compassion, understanding, patience, acceptance, forgiveness, laughter, tears, joy, beauty and most importantly unconditional love.

One response

Leave a comment